Minister Bruton Appoints Chairperson to the Board of EirGrid.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

The Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Richard Bruton, T.D., has today (Tuesday the 12th of November) announced the appointment of a new Chairperson Designate to the Board of EirGrid, Mr Brendan Tuohy. 

Welcoming the appointment, Minister Bruton noted the significant leadership experience Mr Tuohy will bring to the role.  The Minister also thanked the outgoing Chairperson of Eirgrid, John O’Connor, whose term has coincided with rapid change in the electricity sector, and saw the launch of the Integrated Single Electricity Market last year.

Minister Bruton said,

“Brendan joins Eirgrid at a really exciting time. The Climate Action Plan commits to moving to 70% renewable electricity by 2030. This will have a transformational impact on our electricity grid. Brendan, with his intimate knowledge of the energy sector in Ireland will bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the role.”

The Minister also extended his thanks to the Public Appointments Service for its role in delivering the open, competitive process which continues to provide high calibre appointees to State boards.

The appointment is for a period of five years.